Skip to content
Remaining Record Store Day 2024 Stock NOW LIVE
Remaining Record Store Day 2024 Stock NOW LIVE
Edition: Limited Edition 2x Purple Vinyl LP
Condition: New

The Church - The Hypnogogue

Write a review
Original price £12.99 - Original price £27.99
Original price
£12.99 - £27.99
Current price £27.99
Condition: New

Track Listing / Description
A1 Ascendence
A2 C 'Est La Vie  
A3 I Think I Knew
B1 Flickering Lights
B2 The Hypnogogue 
B3 Albert Ross
C1 Thorn
C2 Aerodrome
C3 These coming days 
C4 No Other You
D1 Succulent
D2 Antarctica
D3 Second Bridge 
"Let it first be said that the title track of The Hypnogogue, the first new album from The  Church in six years, is one of the most breath-taking singles they've released in years, a  darkly psychedelic six minutes that slowly spirals into a menacing descent. That alone is  reason to keep this one on your radar; the Australian neo-psych band have been going for  over 40 years, with around a half dozen classic albums and zero bad ones, yet their ability to keep evolving and uncovering new aspects to their sound and approach only serves as a reminder of how vital they remain after four decades." After an epic return to homeland stages, Australian psych-rock legends The Church  announce their forthcoming studio album The Hypnogogue.  Following on from 2017's widely acclaimed Man Woman Life Death Infinity, the Sydney  band's 27th album was recorded just before the world was shut down by the COVID-19 pandemic. Emerging from the darkness is the band's first new studio album in six years and the first to feature the newest line-up led by founder, bassist and vocalist Steve Kilbey. "The Hypnogogue" is the most prog rock thing we have ever done, we've never created a concept album before," says Kilbey. "It is the most teamwork record we have ever had. Everyone in the band is so justifiably proud of this record and everyone helped to make sure it was as good as it could be. Personally, I think it's in our top three records."