Skip to content

Soul Jazz Records Presents: Disco Reggae Rockers - V/A Indies Exclusive Sun Yellow Vinyl LP

Original price £0.00 - Original price £0.00
Original price £0.00
£28.99 - £28.99
Current price £28.99
Condition: New
Indies Exclusive Sun Yellow Vinyl LP
Catalogue Number: SJRLP516C
Barcode: 5026328805160
Record Grading: Mint (M)
Sleeve Grading: Mint (M)
Condition Note: Brand New

Track Listing / Description
1. Devon Russell - Move On Up
2. Crashers - Flight To Jamaica
3. Valerie Harrison - Fool's Paradise
4. Bill Campbell - For The Love Of You
5. Risco Connection - It's My House
6. Dave Barker - Glow Of Love
7. Derrick Harriott - Caught You In A Lie
8. Hortense Ellis - Young Hearts Run Free
9. Ed Watson And Brass Circle - Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
10. Devon Russell - We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue
11. Seventh Extension - Reasons
12. Derrick Harriott - Brown Baby
13. Ed Watson And Brass Circle - Let's Groove
14. Pete Campbell & The Sunshine Girls - Don't Let Love Get You Down
15. Webby Jay - In The Rain
16. Glen Adams Affair - Just A Groove
Disco Reggae Rockers features wicked reggae disco versions of funk, soul and disco classics. This new album follows on from Soul Jazz Records’ earlier highly successful ‘Hustle: Disco Reggae’ and features reggae covers of classic songs by Earth, Wind and Fire, Michael Jackson, The Isley Brothers, Candi Staton, Curtis Mayfield and more, as performed by Derrick Harriott, Devon Russell, Hortense Ellis, Glen Adams, Dave Barker and others. The most straightforward definition of ‘Disco Reggae’ is to describe it as American disco and soul songs covered by reggae artists. But the relationship is binary – this is no mere subservient island appreciation of North American dominant culture but instead an example of the interweaving thread of Jamaican and American music that travels back and forth between the major cities of Kingston, London, Toronto, New York, Chicago and Philadelphia.