Skip to content
Join Us For Record Store Day 20th April 2024
Join Us For Record Store Day 20th April 2024
Edition: Limited Edition 4x Clear Vinyl LP
Condition: New

Porcupine Tree - Closure/Continuation Live

Write a review
Original price £75.99 - Original price £79.99
Original price
£75.99 - £79.99
Current price £75.99
Condition: New

Track Listing / Description
01 Blackest Eyes
02 Harridan
03 Of the New Day
04 Rats Return
05 Even Less
06 Drown With Me
07 Dignity
08 The Sound Of Muzak
09 Last Chance To Evacuate Planet Earth Before It Is Recycled
10 Chimera's Wreck
11 Fear of a Blank Planet
12 Buying New Soul
13 Walk The Plank
14 Sentimental
15 Herd Culling
16 Anesthetize
17 I Drive The Hearse
18 Sleep Together
19 Collapse the Light Into Earth
20 Halo
21 Trains
Following a career spanning an excess of 20 years, and with 10 studio albums under their belt, Porcupine Tree have long-established an undiminishing reverence held by fans and critics alike. Hailed as a genre leading, and defying alternative rock band, their inimitable sound effortlessly flirts between a multitude of styles including the classic rock songcraft, downturned metal and expanding electronics.
When Porcupine Tree went on hiatus in 2010 following their biggest ever headline show at London's Royal Albert Hall, they were a cult band. Although the genre-defying alternative rock band were massively revered by their diehard community of fans, they remained largely unknown in the wider world - a very British anomaly whose unique music could veer sonically between fierce, expansive rock'n'roll, ambient techno and skywards soaring acoustics in the space of a single song and whose lyrics more often than not dwelt in the darker corners of the human psyche.
By the time Porcupine Tree (Steven Wilson, Richard Barbieri, Gavin Harrison) announced their return in 2021, things were a little different. Their cult had grown, and grown.
Porcupine Tree's eleventh album Closure/Continuation was released to a clean sweep of glowing reviews. It reached No 2 in the UK album chart, No 1 in Germany and was Top 10 all across Europe. The band's subsequent arena tour crossed four continents and played to over 150,000 people, many of whom would never have seen the band before. Each night, the band played for nearly three hours and mined a deep, rich back catalogue that had lain dormant and untouched for the past decade. Fan reaction from city to city was nothing short of ecstatic.
Closure/Continuation Live documents Porcupine Tree's triumphant return to the stage perfectly. A live recording captured on 7th November 2022 at Amsterdam's 17,000 capacity Ziggo Dome, it places the listener/viewer right at the heart of the stage for the duration of the show as psychotropic visuals explode behind the band as they play a superlative set of songs that features - to use Steven Wilson's words - "no hits", where each one is received like an anthem from an alternate universe.
Closure/Continuation Live includes live recordings of much of their 2022 reunion album (including the singles Harridan and Of The New Day) as well as classic tracks like Trains, Fear of a Blank Planet and Anesthetize.