Skip to content

Katie Melua - Call Off The Search (20th Anniversary - Expanded & Remastered)

Edition: 2x Black Vinyl LP
Condition: New
Original price £15.99 - Original price £28.99
Original price
£15.99 - £28.99
Current price £28.99
Condition: New
Track Listing / Description
Side 1 – Call Off The Search (2023 Remaster) 
A1 Call Off The Search
A2 Crawling Up A Hill
A3 The Closest Thing To Crazy
A4 My Aphrodisiac Is You
A5 Learnin' The Blues
A6 Blame It On The Moon
Side 2 – Call Off The Search (2023 Remaster) 
B1 Belfast (Penguins and Cats)
B2 I Think It's Going To Rain Today
B3 Mockingbird Song
B4 Tiger In The Night
B5 Faraway Voice
B6 Lilac Wine
Side 3 – Demos (Previously Unreleased) 
C1 Call Off The Search (Demo)
C2 Tiger In The Night (Demo)
C3 Faraway Voice (Demo)
C4 I Think It's Going To Rain Today (Demo)
C5 My Aphrodisiac Is You (Demo)
C6 September Song (Demo)
C7 It Seemed Like A Good Idea At The Time (Demo)
Side 4 – B-Sides 
D1 Downstairs To The Sun
D2 Shirt Of A Ghost
D3 Deep Purple
D4 Turn To Tell
D5 Jack's Room
D6 Anniversary Song (Live)
Katie Melua's debut album, 'Call Off The Search,' instantly established her as a remarkable new talent. Celebrating its 20th anniversary this year, the album showcased her unique vocal style, blending jazz, blues, and folk influences with contemporary pop sensibilities. The album was co-written and produced by Mike Batt, who played a crucial role in crafting the album's lush and sophisticated sound.
The central theme of 'Call Off The Search' revolves around love and self-discovery, expressed through a collection of heartfelt and introspective songs, including lead single, 'The Closest Thing to Crazy,' which immediately captured audiences worldwide with its emotive delivery and captivating melody.
Critics and listeners alike praised the album for its mature and soulful sound, especially considering Katie Melua was just 19 years old at the time of its release. 'Call Off The Search' resonated with a broad audience, earning commercial success and critical acclaim, becoming one of the best-selling albums of 2003.
This 20th anniversary reissue was remastered at Metropolis Studios, London, and includes b-sides plus seven previously unreleased and pristine demos recorded by Katie and Mike Batt in 2002. The liner notes, written by Pete Paphides, features contributions from a new interview with Katie.

Track Listing / Description