Skip to content

Big Special - Postindustrial Hometown Blues Indies Exclusive White Vinyl LP

Original price £23.99 - Original price £23.99
Original price
£23.99 - £23.99
Current price £23.99
Condition: New
Indies Exclusive White Vinyl LP
Catalogue Number: SOAKLPW493
Barcode: 822166000294
Record Grading: Mint (M)
Sleeve Grading: Mint (M)
Condition Note: Brand New

Track Listing / Description
A1 Black Country Gothic
A2 I Mock Joggers
A3 Desperate Breakfast
A4 Shithouse
A5 This Here Ain't Water
A6 My Shape (Blocking The Light)
A7 Black Dog / White Horse
B1 Broadcast: Time Away
B2 Ill.
B3 Mongrel
B4 Butcher's Bin
B5 Dust Off / Start Again
B6 Trees
B7 For The Birds
B8 Dig!
Words are not to be taken for granted. Especially when they're being bellowed, full blast, by a broad-shouldered poet with the brimstone fire of a preacher and the honesty and wisdom of a layman, over ground-shaking live beats and between anthemic blasts of melody and rousing riffage. Words matter. History matters. People matter. And BIG SPECIAL matter.
For BIG SPECIAL - Joe Hicklin (vocals) and Callum Moloney (drums) - their sound is one that comes from vital, frustrated young working-class voices that don't always get heard on the scale they should do. It's a frustration that comes to the fore through a voice that is at times coarse and raw, but sensitive, desperate and soulful at others. Hicklin's brimstone-fired voice marches from guttural punk barks and serrated spoken word to soaring soul and back again, arriving siphoned from their forebears, crushed under the weight of history, and retooled for a new generation. It's wrought, raw and angry at a world lacking options, the thinning of the common understanding between the social classes of England, exasperation at repeating cycles, and the feeling that you're watching your own life unfold from the outside.
These are songs that channel that voice you hear when you look in the mirror and see your true self – fight songs for a world gone wrong.