Skip to content
Join Us For Record Store Day 20th April 2024
Join Us For Record Store Day 20th April 2024

NOW - Yearbook 1983 - V/A 3x Vinyl LP

Write a review
Sold out
Original price £29.99 - Original price £29.99
Original price
£29.99 - £29.99
Current price £29.99
Condition: New
3x Black Vinyl LP
Catalogue Number: LPYBNOW83R
Barcode: 0196588189814
Record Grading: Mint (M)
Sleeve Grading: Mint (M)
Condition Note: Brand New

Track Listing / Description
A1 Wham! - Club Tropicana
A2 Eurythmics, Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart - Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)
A3 Duran Duran - Is There Something I Should Know?
A4 Culture Club - Karma Chameleon
A5 Spandau Ballet - True
A6 Tina Turner - Let's Stay Together
A7 Roberta Flack & Peabo Bryson - Tonight I Celebrate My Love
B1 New Order - Blue Monday
B2 Heaven 17 - Temptation
B3 The Human League - (Keep Feeling) Fascination
B4 Howard Jones – New Song
B5 Tears For Fears - Pale Shelter
B6 Thompson Twins - Hold Me Now
C1 The Police - Every Breath You Take
C2 Toto - Africa
C3 Genesis - Mama
C4 Bonnie Tyler - Total Eclipse of the Heart
C5 Joan Armatrading - Drop The Pilot
C6 Men At Work - Down Under
C7 Mike Oldfield - Moonlight Shadow
D1 U2 - New Year's Day
D2 Simple Minds - Waterfront
D3 Public Image Limited - This Is Not A Love Song
D4 Siouxsie And The Banshees - Dear Prudence
D5 The Cure - The Lovecats
D6 Men without Hats - The Safety Dance
D7 Marilyn - Calling Your Name
D8 Kajagoogoo - Too Shy
E1 Lionel Richie - All Night Long (All Night)
E2 Luther Vandross - Never Too Much
E3 Donna Summer - She Works Hard For The Money
E4 Laura Branigan - Gloria
E5 Freeez - I.O.U.
E6 Rock Steady Crew - (Hey You) The Rock Steady Crew
E7 Malcolm McLaren - Double Dutch
F1 Elton John - I'm Still Standing
F2 Billy Joel - Uptown Girl
F3 UB40 - Red Red Wine
F4 Joe Jackson - Steppin' Out
F5 The Stranglers - European Female
F6 The Style Council - Long Hot Summer
F7 Nick Heyward - Whistle Down the Wind
F8 Paul Young - Love Of The Common People
Celebrating the first year of 'NOW That's What I Call Music' – 1983.
'NOW Yearbook' presents 43 tracks on 3LPs; a stellar selection of 1983's biggest and best hits… huge chart hits from the year, alongside enduring and well-loved classics.
1983 saw British artists achieving unprecedented success across the world with 'Every Breath You Take' from The Police being the year's biggest seller in the U.S., and 'Karma Chameleon' from Culture Club being the top seller in the U.K. Breakthrough acts, achieving their first big hits – all here – include a staggering line-up of future superstars; U2, Eurythmics, Wham!, Paul Young, The Style Council, and Thompson Twins, to name a few...
A large number of established artists also scored their biggest ever hits in 1983; Bonnie Tyler produced a global smash with 'Total Eclipse Of The Heart', Billy Joel's 'Uptown Girl' introduced his biggest selling album in the U.K., Lionel Richie's 'All Night Long' was the year's feel-good track, Elton John's 'I'm Still Standing' was an instant classic on release, and Tina Turner hit big with 'Let's Stay Together', which would lead to the huge success of the 'Private Dancer' album the following year….and not forgetting Genesis, Donna Summer, Mike Oldfield, Joan Armatrading, and a stunning collaboration between Robert Flack & Peabo Bryson on 'Tonight I Celebrate My Love'.
1983 also saw a number of artists who had seen previous releases on the fringes of the chart achieve mainstream success, including The Cure, and New Order with the defining 'Blue Monday', and former Punk and New-Wave chart regulars saw renewed success including Siouxsie And The Banshees, The Stranglers, Public Image Limited, and Joe Jackson.
Synth Pop continued to dominate and Howard Jones, Tears For Fears, The Human League, Heaven 17 and Simple Minds all enjoyed a hit packed year, alongside Electro-Dance smashes from Freeez, Malcolm McLaren, Rock Steady Crew, Laura Branigan… and the aforementioned New Order.
Some of the most enduring tracks include Toto's 'Africa', UB40's 'Red Red Wine' and Luther Vandross's 'Never Too Much'.
'NOW - Yearbook 1983' - 43 songs that reflect the charts in the year that 'NOW' began… and celebrates the musical diversity of the era – from huge hits that are still played on the radio today, alongside lesser compiled but equally cherished tracks.