Skip to content

Holland-Dozier-Holland Anthology: Detroit 1969 – 1977 - V/A 4x Vinyl LP Box Set

Sold out
Original price £69.99 - Original price £69.99
Original price
£69.99 - £69.99
Current price £69.99
Condition: New
4x Black Vinyl LP Box Set
Catalogue Number: DEMRECBOX94
Barcode: 5014797911499
Record Grading: Mint (M)
Sleeve Grading: Mint (M)
Condition Note: Brand New

Track Listing / Description
A1 Freda Payne - Band Of Gold (single mix)
A2 Chairmen Of The Board - Give Me Just A Little More Time
A3 Flaming Ember - Westbound #9
A4 Silent Majority - Frightened Girl
A5 Chairmen Of The Board - You've Got Me Dangling On A String
A6 Honey Cone - Girls It Ain't Easy
A7 Chairmen Of The Board - Pay To The Piper
B1 Chairmen Of The Board - Everything's Tuesday
B2 Freda Payne - Unhooked Generation
B3 Glass House - Crumbs Off The Table
B4 Chairmen Of The Board - All We Need Is Understanding
B5 Freda Payne - Deeper and Deeper
B6 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Somebody's Been Sleeping
B7 Honey Cone - Want Ads
C1 Freda Payne - Bring The Boys Home
C2 Barrino Brothers - I Shall Not Be Moved
C3 8th Day - You've Got to Crawl (Before You Walk)
C4 Lucifer - Don't You (Think the Times A-Comin')
C5 Honey Cone - Sunday Morning People
C6 Glass House – I Surrendered
D1 Freda Payne - You Brought The Joy
D2 General Johnson - I'm In Love Darling
D3 Chairmen Of The Board - Working On a Building of Love
D4 Honey Cone - Stick Up
D5 8th Day - She's Not Just Another Woman (single mix)
D6 Flaming Ember - Gotta Get Away
D7 8th Day – Eeny-Meeny-Miny Mo
E1 Holland-Dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier - Why Can't We Be Lovers
E2 Chairmen Of The Board - Elmo James
E3 Silent Majority - Something New About You
E4 Barrino Brothers - Try It, You'll Like It
E5 Danny Woods - Let Me Ride
E6 Glass House - Thanks I Needed That
E7 Laura Lee - Crumbs Off The Table
F1 Warlock - You've Been My Rock
F2 Laura Lee - Woman's Love Rights
F3 Holland-Dozier Ft Brain Holland - Don't Leave Me Starvin' for Your Love
F4 The Politicians - Free Your Mind
F5 Harrison Kennedy - Sunday Morning People
F6 Satisfaction Unlimited - Let's Change The Subject
F7 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Nothing Sweeter Than Love
G1 Eloise Laws - Love Factory
G2 Freda Payne - We've Got To Find A Way Back To Love
G3 Brian Holland - I'm So Glad Pt. 1
G4 Honey Cone - If I Can't Fly
G5 Tyrone Edwards - Can't Get Enough Of You
G6 Chairmen Of The Board - Skin I'm In
G7 New York Port Authority - I Got It Pt. 1
H1 Chairmen Of The Board - Finders Keepers
H2 Hi-Lites - That's Love
H3 Freda Payne - Two Wrongs Don't Make A Right
H4 Holland-Dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier - New Breed Kinda Woman
H5 Eloise Laws - Put A Little Love Into It (When You Do It)
H6 Melvin Davis - You Made Me Over
H7 Honey Cone Featuring Sharon Cash – Somebody Is Always Messing Up A Good Thing
Holland, Dozier and Holland are arguably the greatest songwriters ever. More prolific than Lennon and McCartney,they shaped "the Sound of Young America" and propelled the Motown sound in the mid-1960s into a creative stratosphere unmatched by any other independent music label. Their trademark catchy teenage love songs were delivered energetically by previously unknown Detroit groups like The Supremes, the Four Tops, Martha & the Vandellas & Marvin Gaye.
Although synonymous with Berry Gordy's Motown, it was their departure from Motown after a stand-off strike in 1967 and a brutal legal battle that led them to run their own group of labels, Invictus, Hot Wax and Music Merchant.
This compilation is a definitive look at this period in history, exploring how H-D-H, under a new guise 'The Creative Corporation', drove the next generation of soul music in a myriad of different ways, towards funk, underground disco and jazz. Featuring 55 tracks, this collection documents HDH's creativity and growth over this seminal 8 year period. During this time the trio developed new artists to rival Motown's success such as Chairman Of The Board, Freda Payne, Honey Cone, Glass House, Flaming Ember, 8th Day, Laura Lee & Eloise Laws.
The collection is complete with a detailed depiction of this period in history by award winning author Stuart Cosgrove who wrote the Soul Trilogy, a series of books on soul music and social change - Detroit 67: the Year That Changed Soul, Memphis 68: The Tragedy of Southern Soul which won the Penderyn Prize, as Music Book of the Year in 2018, and Harlem 69: the Future of Soul. Stuart's notes detail the relationship with Motown in the final days, the immediate fall out after the trio left Motown and the creation of the new labels Hot Wax, Invictus & Music Merchant.