Skip to content
Remaining Record Store Day 2024 Stock NOW LIVE
Remaining Record Store Day 2024 Stock NOW LIVE

Holland-Dozier-Holland Anthology: Detroit 1969 – 1977 - V/A 4CD Box Set

Sold out
Original price £38.99 - Original price £38.99
Original price
£38.99 - £38.99
Current price £38.99
Condition: New
Edition: 4CD Box Set
Catalogue Number: EDSL0187
Barcode: 740155738730
Media Grading: Mint (M)
Sleeve Grading: Mint (M)
Condition Note: Brand New

Track Listing / Description
CD1 1969-1970 
01 Freda Payne - Band Of Gold (single mix)
02 Chairmen Of The Board - Give Me Just A Little More Time
03 Flaming Ember - Westbound #9
04 Silent Majority - Frightened Girl
05 Chairmen Of The Board - You've Got Me Dangling On A String
06 Honey Cone - Girls It Ain't Easy
07 Chairmen Of The Board - Pay To The Piper
08 Chairmen Of The Board - Everything's Tuesday
09 Freda Payne - Unhooked Generation
10 Glass House - Crumbs Off The Table
11 Chairmen Of The Board - All We Need Is Understanding
12 Freda Payne - Deeper and Deeper
13 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Somebody's Been Sleeping
14 Honey Cone - Want Ads
CD2 1971 
01 Freda Payne - Bring The Boys Home
02 Barrino Brothers - I Shall Not Be Moved
03 8th Day - You've Got to Crawl (Before You Walk)
04 Lucifer - Don't You (Think the Times A-Comin')
05 Honey Cone - Sunday Morning People
06 Glass House – I Surrendered
07 Freda Payne - You Brought The Joy
08 General Johnson - I'm In Love Darling
09 Chairmen Of The Board - Working On a Building of Love
10 Honey Cone - Stick Up
11 8th Day - She's Not Just Another Woman (single mix)
12 Flaming Ember - Gotta Get Away
13 8th Day – Eeny-Meeny-Miny Mo
CD3 1972 
01 Holland-Dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier - Why Can't We Be Lovers
02 Chairmen Of The Board - Elmo James
03 Silent Majority - Something New About You
04 Barrino Brothers - Try It, You'll Like It
05 Danny Woods - Let Me Ride
06 Glass House - Thanks I Needed That
07 Laura Lee - Crumbs Off The Table
08 Warlock - You've Been My Rock
09 Laura Lee - Woman's Love Rights
10 Holland-Dozier Ft Brain Holland - Don't Leave Me Starvin' for Your Love
11 The Politicians - Free Your Mind
12 Harrison Kennedy - Sunday Morning People
13 Satisfaction Unlimited - Let's Change The Subject
14 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Nothing Sweeter Than Love
CD4 1973-1977 
01 Eloise Laws - Love Factory
02 Freda Payne - We've Got To Find A Way Back To Love
03 Brian Holland - I'm So Glad Pt. 1
04 Honey Cone - If I Can't Fly
05 Tyrone Edwards - Can't Get Enough Of You
06 Chairmen Of The Board - Skin I'm In
07 New York Port Authority - I Got It Pt. 1
08 Chairmen Of The Board - Finders Keepers
09 Hi-Lites - That's Love
10 Freda Payne - Two Wrongs Don't Make A Right
11 Holland-Dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier - New Breed Kinda Woman
12 Eloise Laws - Put A Little Love Into It (When You Do It)
13 Melvin Davis - You Made Me Over
14 Honey Cone Featuring Sharon Cash – Somebody Is Always Messing Up A Good Thing
Holland, Dozier and Holland are arguably the greatest songwriters ever. More prolific than Lennon and McCartney,they shaped "the Sound of Young America" and propelled the Motown sound in the mid-1960s into a creative stratosphere unmatched by any other independent music label. Their trademark catchy teenage love songs were delivered energetically by previously unknown Detroit groups like The Supremes, the Four Tops, Martha & the Vandellas & Marvin Gaye.
Although synonymous with Berry Gordy's Motown, it was their departure from Motown after a stand-off strike in 1967 and a brutal legal battle that led them to run their own group of labels, Invictus, Hot Wax and Music Merchant.
This compilation is a definitive look at this period in history, exploring how H-D-H, under a new guise 'The Creative Corporation', drove the next generation of soul music in a myriad of different ways, towards funk, underground disco and jazz. Featuring 55 tracks, this collection documents HDH's creativity and growth over this seminal 8 year period. During this time the trio developed new artists to rival Motown's success such as Chairman Of The Board, Freda Payne, Honey Cone, Glass House, Flaming Ember, 8th Day, Laura Lee & Eloise Laws.
The collection is complete with a detailed depiction of this period in history by award winning author Stuart Cosgrove who wrote the Soul Trilogy, a series of books on soul music and social change - Detroit 67: the Year That Changed Soul, Memphis 68: The Tragedy of Southern Soul which won the Penderyn Prize, as Music Book of the Year in 2018, and Harlem 69: the Future of Soul. Stuart's notes detail the relationship with Motown in the final days, the immediate fall out after the trio left Motown and the creation of the new labels Hot Wax, Invictus & Music Merchant.